General meetings are for all members of UCU University of Leeds branch. It is where we make most of our collective decisions. If you think there is something the union collectively should (or shouldn’t!) be doing, you can propose a motion to a general meeting.

This is the schedule of ordinary general meetings for the year. There are often extra-ordinary or emergency general meetings convened to discuss specific issues – members will be informed about these by email.

October 7, 2021

Thursday 7 October 2021, 1pm – 2pm

The deadline for motions to this meeting is 12pm Tuesday 21 September.
Rule change motions can be submitted to this general meeting (because the agenda will be sent out 14 days before the meeting).
If you want to send a motion to one of the UCU national equality conferences from the branch, this is the meeting to put the motion to.

October 7, 2021
November 25, 2021

Thursday 25 November 2021, 12pm – 1pm

The deadline for motions to this meeting is 12pm Tuesday 16 November.
If you want to send a motion to the UCU national anti-casualisation annual meeting, or the annual meeting of academic-related, professional services staff, or make nominations to either of those national committees, this is the latest general meeting to propose the motion or nomination to.

November 25, 2021
January 25, 2022

Tuesday 25 January 2022, 1pm – 2pm

The deadline for motions to this meeting is 12pm Tuesday 18 January.

January 25, 2022
March 8, 2022

Tuesday 8 March 2022, 1pm – 2pm

The deadline for motions to this meeting is 12pm Tuesday 1 March.
If you want to send a motion to UCU Congress 2022 this is the latest general meeting to propose the motion to.

March 8, 2022
April 7, 2022

Thursday 7 April 2022, 12pm – 1pm

The deadline for motions to this meeting is 12pm Tuesday 15 March.
If you want the branch to propose amendments to motions sent by other branch to UCU Congress 2022 this is the meeting to propose that.

April 7, 2022
May 12, 2022

Annual General Meeting (AGM)
Thursday 12 May 2022, 3.45pm – 5pm

The deadline for motions to this meeting is 12pm Tuesday 28 April
The deadline for nominations to the committee for 2022-2023 is the end of Wednesday 13 May.
Rule change motions can be submitted to the AGM.

May 12, 2022
July 4, 2022

Monday 4 July 2022, 12pm – 1pm

The deadline for motions to this meeting is 12pm Tuesday 21 June.

July 4, 2022

There’s some useful advice on general meetings at Making UCU branch general meetings work better

This page was updated on 6 September 2021 to change the April general meeting from Wednesday to Thursday (to avoid a clash with a meeting with management).

This page was last updated on 6 September 2021